• OK, it's on.
  • Please note that many, many Email Addresses used for spam, are not accepted at registration. Select a respectable Free email.
  • Done now. Domine miserere nobis.

Chess

Local time
Today 6:44 AM
-->
Hi,
Anyone interested in chess? I have been playing it for 3 months now and i am really hooked. I have watched all documentaries about Bobby Fischer (anti-social INTJ). Feel sad and also amazed the way he went through life. Anyone can recommend good chess books?

Rook

enter text
Local time
-->
Hmmm yes fischer had quite an interesting life.

Was an avid chess player for a few years, have grown somewhat disinterested in it though.
Occasionally play for the heck of it, but my play has deteriorated with disuse.

1001 Deadly checkmates- John Nunn
The Giant Chess Puzzle book- Zenon Franco

These arent theoretical books, but books like them are good for training tactics.
You can study opening and endgame theory and have good knowledge of positional strategy, but in the end a quick recognition of viable tactics is essential in competitive play.

If you can quickly identify all tactics in a position, you can focus more time on position and long term maneuvers.

EDIT: Oh yes, a program called Fritz is quite good, gives you a wide database of games dating from the first chess games ever recored. Also has other features, but that the former one is decent enough.

Ex-User (9086)

Prolific Member
Local time
Today 4:44 AM
-->
Chess is nice I used to play, currently Go holds more interest as a hobby/relax game.

You don't need books about chess, unless you like to read for entertainment.

What is needed for any game or self-contained goal is the self-correcting algorithm of action, followed by exploration of possibilities in a leisurely (fun) fashion, so that you can be disciplined when competing and still enjoy what you do when improving and learning.