• OK, it's on.
  • Please note that many, many Email Addresses used for spam, are not accepted at registration. Select a respectable Free email.
  • Done now. Domine miserere nobis.

Interested in learning programming

Beholder

What for?
Local time
Today 1:35 PM
-->
I'm sure there are already threads about this, so I apologize in advance for asking the same questions (I wouldn't mind being referred to said threads if they answer my questions)

I want to learn to program, my interest currently lies in artificial neural networks, especially evolving ones.
I am a complete beginner, with virtually no knowledge or experience about the subject (of programming that is. I'm currently trying to learn about neural networks, so I have atm a basic understanding of how they work).

So my questions are:
1) What would be a good language to start with?
I know this is an annoying question, and the answers I've managed to get from other threads are: it doesn't really matter, you should go for what's in demand (java, c++ ?), python is too easy (why is this a problem exactly?)
2) Assuming I practice a few (average 1-3) hours a day, how long would it take me to reach a point where I can build a basic neural network? (Something like this for example: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2kupe2ZKK58)
3) Can anyone recommend a good tutorial/book/website/whatever to learn from

Thanks a lot!

ProxyAmenRa

Here to bring back the love!
Local time
Today 9:35 PM
-->
I work with neural networks on quite a frequent basis. I use them for pattern recognition and classification, data storage/mapping, interpolation and forecast models. A person working in the desk next to me is using them for system controllers. I personally think it is a stupid idea. What would you like to know?

As for programming, this channel holds a number of lecture series:

http://www.youtube.com/user/bjhecke...ery=Object-Oriented+Programming+in+C++&view=1