• OK, it's on.
  • Please note that many, many Email Addresses used for spam, are not accepted at registration. Select a respectable Free email.
  • Done now. Domine miserere nobis.

The nature of equality

Cognisant

Prolific Member
Local time
Yesterday 4:18 PM
-->
I was watching a stream on Youtube from Overly Sarcastic Productions in which they're creating a tier list of the magic systems used in various works of fiction and at one point the topic of gendered magic system in "The NeverEnding Story" came up and they commented on how you don't see systems like that anymore because it's too controversial. Now I'm no expert on that fictional universe, perhaps the magic system is somehow inherently misogynistic in some way and if that is the case please feel free to explain the situation me, but the impression I got was that the controversy was solely based on the idea that men and women are in some way inherently different.

Suppose in the Avatar universe only men can do fire/earth bending, and only women can do air/water bending, is that sexist?

The thing is people are different and it's very important that we recognize that, in reality there a people with disabilities, people who are neurodivergent, people who are homosexual and/or non-binary and I'm told that it's very important that these people receive representation in media so they have something to identify with. Now I agree with that but I want to highlight the cognitive dissonance here, when someone "identifies" with something that's because they want to make it part of their identity and our identity is that that which defines us as being something as opposed to being something else.